RSS Feed

babies bottom biscuits

Posted on

I’ve been making biscuits for many years now. Not because I remember my mother at the kitchen counter delicately cutting cold butter into flour to later produce a light and flaky biscuit-our biscuits were produced from a can and they were perfectly acceptable-but because one day I found an easy recipe for homemade biscuits and decided I could make them. And I did. Over the years, maybe two or three times a year, I would make biscuits just because I had all the ingredients in the house and I had the urge for something quick and freshly baked. I never thought twice about these biscuits. I never experimented with them or had the desire to improve upon the recipe. I never made them for company and nobody ever begged me to make them and more often than not the extras would sit in the refrigerator for days until even microwaving them wasn’t worth the effort.  Fast forward to the present.  I’m reading a book based on the south.  I’m a northerner but I take delight in all these southern. Especially the food.  So it is no wonder that when food is mentioned in this particular book I instantly become more alert-never mind the love story. The character was eating a biscuit she described as “melt in your mouth” good. Wait a minute.  My biscuits were good but they certainly did not melt in your mouth.  At that moment I decided I must have these biscuits. These biscuits that melt in your mouth. My biscuit recipe needed to be revisited.  I know the basic rules of baking, especially when working with doughs for pies, scones, or biscuits; the butter must be very cold and do not overhandle the delicate dough. I’d been doing this all along. Why didn’t my biscuits melt in your mouth.  Believe me, I know the difference between something that melts in your mouth and something that needs a little liquid to help it go down.  Nothing I did was giving me the results I desired. Good biscuits but no melting. Then something, that at the time I thought very silly, came back to me. When I was taught how to roll out pastry dough to be fitted into a round pie dish I was told in order to make a round shape as opposed to square or any other shape, I had to “think round” as I was rolling.  Not that this has worked for me everytime but I liked the idea. In biscuit making I know the dough has to be worked gently and the first idea that popped into my head was a babies bottom. Or more specifically how you gently handle a babies bottom when you are changing their diaper or softly pat patting their diapered rump while trying to calm a fussy baby over your shoulder. The kneading movements reminded me of the way you very carefully fold the corners of a diaper over a babies tummy so it is nice and snug. Your hands are loose and light in movement. So now as I  combine the wet ingredients with the dry I use my fingertips with my palms slightly cupped and I’m thinking babies bottom, babies bottom. Once the dough is just combined I dump it onto the counter and as I gather and knead still thinking babies bottom babies bottom.  Lightly pat patting out the dough to about a half an inch thick  rectangle to be cut  into rounds to become the most light and fluffy melt in your mouth biscuits ever! Finally. I have made these biscuits many times over the past few days. They have become “the famous biscuits”.  I crave them even though I know making them so often requires eating them which in the long run will not be so good for my rump. But they are oh so good, with honey, your favorite  jam or just plain.

Recipe:  Quick, Easy Buttermilk Biscuits

2 cups   all purpose flour

3 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

4 Tablespoons cold unsalted butter cut into pieces

2 tablespoons shortening

1 cup cold buttermilk

Preheat oven 400 degrees

Mix in a bowl the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Add the cold butter and shortening to the bowl and using your fingers or a pastry cutter work the butter and shortening into the flour. leaving it sort of chunky. Add the cold buttermilk all at once and work in with your hands or a wooden spoon. Dump onto counter and pat out into a circle and cut out biscuits with a glass or 2 inch biscuit cutter. Brush the tops with some melted butter and bake in center of oven 12-15 minutes.  Eat warm and enjoy!

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

2 responses »

  1. Hi Kat, I also have a memory of biscuits coming from a can and not being homemade. The only time I ever enjoyed homemade butter milk biscuits, was when we went to visit my grandmother in NC. Oh how I wish I had paid attention to how she made them. So with that I think this weekend I will gather my kids up and we will make the babies bottom biscuits for breakfast…I’ll let you know how they come out!…lost in the kitchen…Karen

    Reply
  2. Karen, go to the store, get buttermilk and while the kids are in school MAKE THESE BISCUITS! Don’ t you think it will be a nice treat for them to come home to? With the leftovers (if there are any) you can have sausage, egg and cheese biscuits for breakfast. Kat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

blackstreetonline.wordpress.com/

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

