RSS Feed

yes, hot wings

Posted on

 

The Super Bowl is in a few days. If there are men in your life (or you are a man) you will find yourself, this Sunday, plunked down in front of a television watching the big game. Very near you will be a table weighed down by more food than you can imagine at one time past Thanksgiving.  The usual suspects will be there; Chili, chips, dips.  And the star of the show-hot wings.  Or as they are officially known- Buffalo wings.  By now we all  know that Buffalo wings are so called because they originated at a bar in Buffalo, New York.  I always imagined some hot-sauce lusting soul sitting at a table with chicken and hot sauce and saying I don’t want my chicken dotted with hot sauce I want it saturated with the stuff.

Legend has  it these wings showed up as early as the 1960’s.  I wouldnt know.  I first heard of them in the 80’s when I worked at a large office complex that had its own cafeteria/food court. The cafeteria had everything from pizza, to subs to chinese food.  Sometimes things were changed up to keep the masses from getting bored.

Every afternoon my co-workers and I would take our lunch time stroll through the cafeteria passing by each station deciding what we wanted to eat.  It usually took us several strolls around the cafeteria before we decided.  Hey, we were young, cute and single and the cafeteria was always crawling with available men in suits.  One such station we passed had a sign that read ” special today: Buffalo wings”. With not so much as  a glance inside the hot steamer we walked on by.   I remember thinking  “eww Buffalo wings?   Those things must be huge”.  Its ok to laugh. I’m over it.

I’m aware that Buffalo or Bison do not have wings.  I’m sure I thought someone had taken some part of said animal and fashioned it  into something that mimicked a chicken wing and that’s just gross.  Buffalo wings, hot wings, spicy wings, whatever you want to call them they are  one of Americas favorite bar foods.  If you travel outside the U.S. and happen to see them on a menu take pride that they are as American as apple pie. 

 Though you can get hot wings from practically any street that sells food they are not that difficult to make.  I didn’t say easy because you will have to do a little work but it will be worth it. The ingredient list is a short one just four ingredients if you include the oil. The more you make them you can adjust them to your taste.  How hot or mild  you like.

 

 

Recipe: Hot Wings

Vegetable or Canola oil

Family pack Chicken wings -seperated or a bag of wingettes thawed and dried very well

Your favorite hot sauce

Butter

 

In a large pot that is fairly heavy- heat oil. You want enough oil to deep fry the wings.  The oil should be at a temperature of about 375 degrees. If you do not have an oil thermometer you can heat the oil on medium-high (not high) fire for about 30 minutes. Test this by adding a wing if it sizzles its ready.

Fry the wings in batches. Do not overcrowd or you will bring the temperature of the oil down and the wings won’t fry properly. Each batch should take about 15 minutes or so. The wings should be golden in color and crispy. As they are done place them on a paper towel lined tray to absorb the extra oil.  Continue until all wings are done.

While wings are frying heat hot sauce and butter in a medium saucepan just until butter melted. Whip to combine. 

When all wings are done put them into a deep pan and pour hot sauce/butter mixture over.  Stir to make sure all wings are coated well. NOTE: The more butter you add to your hot sauce the milder your sauce will be.

Serve wings immediately or keep warm in oven.

 

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for the receipe Kat. I have hot wings on my food list for the Super Bowl and a simple receipe. I will let you know how they come out.

    Reply
  2. Anthony & I tryed the receipe and we loved it! we also did BBQ sauce:> Thanks mom!

    Reply
  3. I have never been able to come up with a good recipe for hot wings–I’ll try these. Nice blog!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

justhomemade.wordpress.com/

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

