RSS Feed

valentine’s day and bittersweet chocolate brownies

Posted on

When I set out to do this blog I promised myself that I would be honest.  A blog is a journal of ones life.   What you love about it, what you hate about it and everything in between.  In a journal you tell the truth, as you know it, about yourself.  My truth today is that Valentine’s Day is not my favorite holiday.  It never has been.  I don’t get caught up in the decorations, the cards and the chocolate.

 I know as a child I looked forward to the day as children do.  Anticipation growing,  as the day neared,  to see how many cards I would receive in  my specially made mailbox attached to the side of my school desk.  I can’t say the same as an adult.  I’ve never pestered boyfriends nor husband months ahead of time dropping hints about what I would want for Valentine’s day.  I don’t get flowers because I’ve never asked for flowers.   I don’t get boxes of chocolate because I’ve never expressed a desire for boxes of chocolate.

  I”ve always gone all out  when It came to sending my children to school with goodies, though.  Flipping through copies of Family Fun magazine for the most creative valentines day crafts.

Though I don’t go crazy over chocolate I have a few favorites that come in handy when a craving hits.   Peanut m & m’s, Haagen Daz chocolate ice cream and brownies. 

 

 

My favorite brownies are more cakey than gooey and fudgy.  I wanted to try this brownie recipe because one of my favorite cookbook authors, Alice Medrich, described them as having a “texture between moist cake and rich chocolate mousse”.  They do not disappoint.

Brownies are a favorite because they are easy  to make and pack a powerful chocolate punch in a tiny piece.  I used a small heart-shaped cookie cutter to cut these out.  You can use the scraps to make brownie balls and roll them in colored sugars, nuts or dust with powdered sugar.

Recipe:  Bittersweet Brownies

8 oz  bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

6 Tablespoons unsalted butter cut into pieces

3 Large eggs at room temperature

1 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/3 cup + 1 Tablespoon all-purpose flour

8 INCH SQUARE BAKING PAN

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Line the bottom and sides of the baking pan with foil or parchment paper.

Put the chocolate and butter in a heat proof bowl (glass) and sit atop a saucepan that has water in it and the water is simmering over low heat.

Melt the butter and chocolate and stir frequently until the mixture is melted and smooth and warm.

Remove from the heat and set the bowl aside.

In a medium bowl beat the eggs, sugar, salt and vanilla with a hand mixer on high-speed until the mixture is thick and light in color, about two minutes.  Whisk in the warm chocolate.  Fold in the flour.

Scrape the batter into the lined pan and spread evenly.  Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 25-30 minutes.  The top will be crackly.  Cool  completely in the pan on a rack.  Invert the brownies on a rack and peel off the foil or parchment.  Turn right side up and cut into sixteen two-inch squares.

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

3 responses »

  1. Hi, Kat…I have read every word of your blog and having had similar food related experiences, have found it funny, poignant and inspiring. Having been so inspired, I found myself on the Sunday night before Valentines day with my college age son home for the afternoon and dinner on a surprise visit. How could I ever send him back to school without a Valentine? I followed your recipe for bittersweet chocolate brownies and they were fabulous. I even had the heart shaped cutter! Alas, he was back off to school with the delicious Valentine shaped brownies. What’s next for me..Pot Roast? Congratulations and keep the recipes coming!

    Reply
    • Hi D!
      Thank you for reading and following the blog. I love comments from my readers and especially hearing about their food experiences. I’m glad your son liked the brownies. What a great way to send him back to school! You know D, you could bake these brownies in a 9-inch springform pan and serve slices with freshly made whipped cream for a sweet ending to a…dinner party? Kat

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Profiteroles with Vanilla Ice Cream and Bourbon Chocolate Sauce « Kat's in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

justhomemade.wordpress.com/

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

