RSS Feed

my penne with vodka sauce

Posted on

Recently I have begun to cut back on the amount of meat my family consumes.  No,  I am not venturing towards vegetarianism.  I love meat,but scaling back on the number of meals I serve that feature this protein allows me to explore more interesting options.

This was not an easy task to take on coming from a home, as I did,  where there was meat at every meal.  My mother would never entertain the idea of eliminating meat from a family meal.  Even when she made a pot of beans there was always smoky pieces of hamhock to add flavor as well as sustenance.   Sucking the fatty, salty meat from the bones was a highlight of dinner.  On busy mornings if there wasn’t enough time for a full breakfast, she would quickly fry pieces of bacon for us to have with our frosted flakes before we went off to school.

Not having meat at every meal has become  liberating.   On the nights I choose  not  to cook meat,  I don’t have to sit staring at a block of raw packaged meat wondering what could I possibly do to it that would make it any  different from the last time I cooked it.

Going meatless during the winter can present a challenge.  Although you can serve a simple salad during the warmer months, in the colder months you need something a bit more substantial.

A pasta dish always works well.  Its  quick to make and by adding vegetables either in the recipe or to serve as a side dish you can  turn it into a well-balanced meal.

Penne with vodka sauce is a favorite in my home.  It has tomatoes, cream and cheese.  Whats not to love?  I  boost the flavor by roasting the whole tomatoes to give them a sort of sun-dried tomato taste, without the sweetness and chew of an actual sun-dried tomato.

 

Recipe:  Penne with Vodka Sauce

3 Tablespoons butter

1 small onion finely diced

2 fat cloves of garlic minced

pinch of red pepper flakes

1 28 ounce can crushed tomatoes

1 28-ounce can whole peeled plum tomatoes seeded, drained and juices reserved

1 teaspoon sugar

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/3 cup + 2 Tablespoons vodka

1/2 c heavy cream

1/2 cup grated pecorino romano cheese

Fresh basil (optional)

Preheat oven to 475 degrees

In a medium saucepan over medium heat melt the butter.  Add the onions, garlic and red pepper flakes.  Cook stirring occasionally about five minutes until the onions are soft and the garlic is fragrant.  Be careful and not burn the garlic.

Add the crushed tomatoes and reserved tomato juice to the pan and bring to a simmer.  Turn the heat to low, partially cover the saucepan and cook, stirring occasionally about twenty minutes until the sauce has thickened.   While the sauce is cooking roast the tomatoes.

Open up the seeded whole tomatoes so they lay flat.  Place them on a  rimmed, foil-lined  baking sheet. Sprinkle the tomatoes with the sugar and drizzle over the olive oil.  Roast the tomatoes about fifteen minutes, being careful to not burn.

When the tomatoes have finished roasting add to the sauce breaking them into smaller pieces with the back of a spoon. Don’t worry if they are not completely broken up the sauce will be pureed slightly.  Carefully add the vodka to the sauce and continue to cook about ten minutes more until most of the alcohol has evaporated.

Using an immersion blender puree the sauce.  Do not puree until completely smooth, you want some chunks to give the sauce texture. 

Meanwhile, bring about four quarts of water to a boil in a large pot.  Add one tablespoon of salt and the pasta and cook pasta until al dente according to package directions.  Reserve one cup of the pasta water and drain the pasta well, shaking to remove excess water.

Stir the heavy cream  into the sauce and warm slightly.  Add the drained pasta to the sauce and stir well.  If the pasta seems dry add the reserved pasta water to loosen it.  Stir in the half cup pecorino romano and toss to combine.  Tear the basil into small pieces and stir into pasta.  Serve immediately with more cheese if desired.

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

