RSS Feed

rich hot chocolate with toasted marshmallows

Posted on

It seems mother nature is thoroughly muddled by what winter should feel like in these waning days of February.  Just a week ago I was happy to unbundle and walk outside to near seventy-degree temperatures and a bright, sunny sky.  The very next day temperatures plunged almost fifty degrees.  Back to hats,scarves and gloves. 

Those few days of warm weather had me wishing for spring.  I want to see tulip leaves pushing up from underneath the ground,green grass and tightly closed buds sprouting from the limbs of trees.  The weather has been the hot topic on all the news and talk shows.  It will be a welcome change to hear news not weather related or forewarnings of winter storms to come.  Unless of course we are plagued by heavy rains in spring or summer heat waves.  Perish the thought.

  In the meantime I have made a promise to enjoy these last few weeks of winter, without looking out of the window in disgust at the mountains of dirty snow that have been around since late December.

The next winter storm (and I know there will be one) I promise to go outside and make snow angels, I promise to have a furious snowball fight with the kids and be the last man standing.  And most of all I will remember to take pictures of the snow-covered landscape so I won’t forget how beautiful ,and at times comforting, winter can be.

For now while the night’s are guaranteed to still be cold I’ll enjoy grown-up hot chocolate.  Thick and rich with toasted marshmallows.  The toasted marshmallows add a smoky flavor and if you poke them open all this melted, goodness seeps into the already thick hot chocolate.  You don’t need a big cup of this-its meant to be savored in small portions.  But you may want to have a spoon nearby. 

This recipe serves 4 sweetly.

Recipe: rich hot chocolate with toasted marshmallows

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

1/2 cup milk

2 ounces good quality milk chocolate, chopped 

2 ounces good quality bittersweet chocolate, chopped

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

4-8 large marshmallows

 

Directions:

Heat the heavy cream and milk in a saucepan on medium heat until it bubbles and simmers slightly.

Turn the heat to low and continue to simmer.  It will thicken a little.

Add the chopped chocolates and vanilla extract.

Using a whisk, whip until all chocolate  has melted and the mixture is frothy.

Set the hot chocolate aside and toast the marshmallows.

Working two at a time place the marshmallows on a metal skewer or the tines of a metal fork and hold them over an open flame of the stove top, turning until all sides are nicely charred.  Continue until all the marshmallows you are using are toasted.

If needed, reheat the hot chocolate, pour into cups and top with one or two toasted marshmallows on top.

 

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

