RSS Feed

sour cream-banana toffee crumb cake

Posted on

 

Sometimes I like to regale you with long tales and food related stories that eventually segue into the featured recipe and sometimes I like to cut to the chase.  Or in this case-cut to the cake.   Especially this cake; sour cream-banana toffee crumb cake.

When I came across this recipe I knew I had to make it.  First, because it has sour cream in it and I know any recipe that features sour cream will yield a moist, fluffy cake with a pleasant tang.  The other reason is the bananas.  Bananas and I are likethis.   I purchase  them by the bunch and what doesn’t get eaten gets baked in some way once they have turned.  When I feel like baking and don’t have turned bananas I go to my local deli and buy theirs.  I thought I was regarded strangely at my constant request for bagels without holes-now I was  asking for rotten bananas. 

 

This cake is my secret weapon and goes with me anywhere people need “persuading” .  Its been at PTA meetings, potlucks, cookie swaps, bake sales, too many school events to count and even a cake walk!  I”ve baked it as a round cake, a loaf cake and cupcakes.

I wish I could take credit for the recipe because it’s that good,  but I clipped it from a magazine article some time ago.  The only adjustment I made was to add a bit of chocolate in the form of chocolate covered toffee bits instead of plain toffee bits. 

Please don’t judge me too harshly if in the future you find there is an ample amount of recipes that include bananas on this site.  I like all sorts of other fruits, but to me bananas add something magical to foods and especially baked goods.  The aroma alone when this cake is baking is enough to drive me insane.   I won’t even mention the batter,  which is lucky to make it into the oven.  This cake needs no ice cream,  no whipped cream no fancy embellishments.  It’s a humble snacking cake and should be respected as such. 

I will admit I have been selfish with this recipe and unwilling to give it up.  But after holding on to it  for so long I have decided to share. 

recipe: sour cream-banana toffee crumb cake, adapted from Food and Wine magazine 

crumb topping:

1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter,softened

1/4 cup toffee bits (plain or chocolate covered)

cake:

vegetable oil cooking spray

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

3 large eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup mashed bananas (2 medium)

Directions:

Make the crumb topping: in small bowl, combine the confectioners’ sugar with the flour and butter and pinch to form crumbs. Stir in the toffee bits.

Make the cake: preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 10-inch spring form pan with cooking spray.  In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a large bowl, using a handheld electric mixer, beat the butter until creamy.  Add the granulated sugar and beat at medium speed until light and fluffy.  Then beat in the eggs and vanilla.  Add the sour cream and bananas;  beat at low-speed just until blended.  Add the dry ingredients and beat until smooth.   Scrape the  batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top.

Sprinkle the crumb mixture evenly over the batter and bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes,  or until the crumb cake is golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with moist crumbs attached.  Loosely cover the cake with foil during the last 20 minutes .  Let cool in the pan for 15 minutes, then remove the ring and let cool completely on cooling rack before serving.

The cake can be stored at room temperature in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

One response »

  1. Just made this cake, again, don’t ask how many times, to the delight of my family! It always brings good memories and good thoughts of you. I hope you are enjoying time with your family and the New Year brings good health and happiness to you and yours. I miss seeing you and hope we can get the W-S gang together in the new year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

