RSS Feed

Easy caesar dressing and chicken caesar sandwich

Posted on

 

There are some things that I don’t bother to make at home.   Either because of the amount of time it takes to make and the store version is acceptable (puff pastry) or because it is not worth the effort and the home version will never be as good as its original.  So whenever I want something that I feel can’t be duplicated in a home kitchen I have to purchase it from a reputable source.

Lucky for me, its a short list.  There aren’t too many things that I won’t attempt to make at least once.  The aforementioned puff pastry came out buttery and flaky as ever when I made it at home.  And the next time I have hours to devote to the kneading, folding and turning of pounds of butter into copious amounts of flour I will make it again.  Until then I”ll buy a good brand from the supermarket.

I cannot say the same about caesar dressing.  There is no version (homemade or store bought) that can replace the impression made on me by an exceptionable caesar dressing.  I can’t  remember where I had it.  I just know the memory of the taste is what I use to measure all other caesar dressings.  Which,  time after time have proven inferior.  So I don’t bother trying to duplicate it at home and rather than face dissapointment, I rarely order caesar salad in restaurants. 

People have given me recipes that have gone untouched and eventually lost.  I was not a believer.  That is until I was given a recipe by a co-worker, that was given to her by another co-worker. 

  SIDEBAR- I work, part time,  at this amazing cookware and specialty foods store-Williams Sonoma.  It’s almost like being inserted into the pages of my favorite cooking magazine for a few hours a week.  I’m surrounded by food,  talk about food, cook food and eat (too much) food and work with women who share the same interest and passion about food.  So when one of them recommends something or says something is good I take their word for it, no questions asked. 

Sandy, my co-worker didn’t just say this recipe was good she said it was the best caesar dressing ever and she made it so much she was able to give me the recipe from memory.

There’s a reason why this recipe is different from others.  It has to do with a hairy little fish.  The Anchovy.   In the past recipes  would omit anchovies in a caesar dressing recipe or recommend  worcestershire sauce in place of them, because lots of people dislike anchovies.   I am telling you that leaving it out is a mistake.  It is part of what contributes to the complex flavor of a really great caesar dressing.  Anchovies add a savory quality known as umami to foods.  A sort of meaty, saltiness. You can taste it in foods like, parmesan cheese, mushrooms and red wine.  When anchovies are added to foods, whether in paste form or fillets you barely notice them.  You just know that what you are eating has a certain something about it that makes it taste good.  And a teensy bit goes a long way.   I could  sit here all day extolling the virtues of a tiny, hairy, pungent smelling fish.   But I won’t-if you don’t like tiny, hairy, pungent smelling fish it won’t make a difference.  I can only tell you that if you leave it out of this recipe you will be sorely dissapointed.  So don’t do it.

I had some chicken breasts lying around so I marinated them in olive oil with a few squeezes of  fresh lemon juice and some dijon mustard, then pan sauteed them and made a chicken caesar sandwich.   But I was just as happy scooping up the dressing with leaves of romaine lettuce. 

 

RECIPE:  Caesar Dressing-  Given to me by Sandy who got it from Deanne.  Thanks Ladies!

For best flavor use quality ingredients.  This will hold about 3-5 days in the fridge.  The flavor blooms after the first day.

1 cup of Hellmans mayonnaise

2 cloves of garlic, minced and mashed or grated on a microplane or small holes on a box grater

juice of 1/2 a lemon

1/2 – 1 Tablespoon of anchovy paste   (add gradually to your taste)

1 teaspoon worcestershire sauce

2-3 teaspoons Grey Poupon dijon mustard

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

a little water to thin out if necessary

In a medium bowl add mayonnaise.  Add the remaining ingredients (except salt and pepper) one at a time tasting as you do to notice the flavor  that each ingredient brings to the dressing.  Add more or less to your taste.  When all ingredients are  mixed in add salt and pepper.  Add water a tablespoon at a time to thin out if required. 

The good thing about this recipe is the next time you make it you can adjust it to your taste.  Add more or less garlic, add more lemon juice.  You can even add more anchovies!

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

One response »

  1. Kat this looks delicious. I am going to try this recipe this weekend. I am always on a quest to find the best caesar dressing out there. My daughter drenches everything she eats in Caesar dressing. I hope I can accomplish this for her! Thanks Kat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

justhomemade.wordpress.com/

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

