RSS Feed

iced mocha frappé

Posted on
iced mocha frappé

 

I know I’m late to embrace the iced-coffee trend.  I’m a purist and believe coffee should be consumed  steaming hot no matter what the weather.   To me, the hotter the better.  Warm coffee may as well be iced coffee.  If my coffee gets down to luke warm, I make a trip to the microwave to blast it back to steaming hot. 

Lately its been hot and even for a coffee purist such as myself drinking hot coffee in above ninety degree temperatures just seems wrong.  So I gave in.

Though willing to give up my mug of hot coffee for a tall iced coffee I was less willing to purchase one from a trendy coffee shop or fast food place. Not that I have anything against those places.  But if you haven’t noticed I’m a bit picky.  People who know me would say I’m a lot picky and they’d also call it something else. It isn’t even that I think I can make a  better iced coffee than those places. It’s just that besides being picky I’m also frugal.  Say I spend four dollars on a designer iced coffee drink and it turns out to be a watered down mess,  I’ll complain about it and then kick myself for not just making my own.  On the flip side if I spend six dollars on what turns out to be a fabulous iced coffee, it was money well spent and I might buy it again and even try to reproduce it at home.

Which is exactly what I ended up doing.  I know that on a busy week day morning most of us don’t have time to blend coffee cubes and make chocolate sauce and whipped cream just so we can have a colder version of  our morning pick me-up . So this is more like a weekend splurge.  However if you made some of the components ahead and gave yourself an extra 15 minutes in the morning you could find yourself going off to work sipping an icy cold mocha frappé.

Some things you can do ahead:

Make and freeze the coffee cubes.

Make the chocolate sauce.

You can even use the kind of whipped cream that comes in the can that you shake up and down.

Recipe: Mocha Frappé

For the coffee ice:

3 Tablespoons sugar

2 cups warm strong coffee

For the chocolate syrup:

2/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (Dutch processed cocoa)

1 ounce semi-sweet chocolate,finely chopped

1  1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Frappés:

1 cup full fat or reduced fat milk

homemade whipped cream (recipe follows)

Directions:

Make the coffee ice by stirring the sugar into the coffee until dissolved. Let cool. Pour into a 16-cube ice-cube tray and freeze until solid, at least 3 hours or over night.

To make the chocolate syrup combine the sugar and cocoa powder in a saucepan and slowly whisk in 2/3 cup hot water. Bring to a simmer over medium heat, whisking until sugar dissolves about 3-5 minutes. Do not boil.

Remove from the heat and stir in the chopped semi-sweet chocolate, honey and vanilla until smooth.  Transfer to a bowl and refrigerate until cool.

Make the Frappés

Puree 8 coffee ice cubes, 1/2 cup milk, 1/3 cup chocolate syrup and 1 cup plain ice in a blender until smooth. Pour into two glasses, then repeat steps to make 2 more drinks. Top with freshly made whipped cream and more chocolate syrup.  Enjoy!

Whipped Cream:

1 cup cold heavy cream

2 Tablespoons sugar

In a cold bowl using a wire whisk, whip the heavy cream until soft peaks form.  (lift the whisk out of the cream and a tiny mountain with a peak forms and then quickly flops over-that is a soft peak)

Add the 2 tablespoons of sugar to the bowl and continue to whip just until sugar incorporated.  Be careful not to over-whip.  Your whipped cream should look like the picture below.

fresh-made whipped cream

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

4 responses »

  1. I really enjoy the blog.Thanks Again. Really Cool.

    Reply
  2. Really enjoyed this blog post.Really thank you! Really Cool.

    Reply
  3. Muchos Gracias for your blog article.Thanks Again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

