RSS Feed

get grillin’ contest and black-eye pea salad

Posted on

black-eye pea salad

It’s not fair.  For weeks I thumbed through pages and pages of cookbooks, magazines,old recipe notebooks and searched on line to try and put together a suitable menu for the Mother’s Day Luncheon. What should have been a simple task turned out to be a stressful chore.
Having to take into account the different tastes,likes and dislikes of a variety of women I had to be sure my menu was diet friendly but not too friendly. These women like to eat but salads and vegetables and carefully cooked foods devoid of flavor were out.
In the end everything worked out and the menu was interesting and even included a few vegetable dishes.
The unfair part, and I’m not blaming the gender,was Father’s Day. Not a cookbook nor magazine was consulted. And yet without much thought I knew what I would be cooking weeks before Father’s Day. I actually had too much to choose from: Steak? Fillet of beef? Fat juicy burgers? And as long as there was ice cold beer, what side dishes I served wasn’t even important.
 I’m not complaining. The Mother’s Day Luncheon was a great chance to get together with friends,old and new. Father’s Day was a day to cook meat and let men eat.
Because I raved so much about the black-eye pea salad from the lucheon I decided to make it for Father’s Day. I wasn’t multi-tasking as much so I was able to get pictures to use for a post.
I’m also entering the Black-eye pea salad in a Get Grillin contest for Get Grillin’ with Family Fresh Cooking and Cookin’ Canuck, sponsored by Ile de France Cheese, Rösle, Emile Henry, Rouxbe and ManPans.” Please visit Family Fresh Cooking and Cookin’ Canuck for great grilling recipes, and the sponsors for great products that enhance your cooking. Happy Fathers Day!
 
 

Recipe: Black-eye pea salad

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons sugar

3/4 cup olive oil

3 cups canned black-eye peas, rinsed and drained

1 red bell pepper seeded and diced

1/2 c chopped green onions, white and green parts

1 large tomato, diced or grape tomatoes cut in half

1 tablespoon fresh thyme, minced

1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, minced

4 tablespoons fresh parsley, minced

2 tablespoons  fresh,  oregano, minced

1 large banana pepper, seeded and diced

1 medium sized jalapeno or other hot green pepper, seeded and diced

Directions:

Add vinegar and sugar to a medium sized bowl and mix until sugar dissolves.  Whisk in oil to incorporate into dressing.

Combine the remaining ingredients in a large bowl and gently toss together with a large spoon to combine.

Pour dressing over salad and mix well.

Put in refrigerator to chill.  Before serving gently toss again. Use a slotted spoon to serve.

 

 

 

 

1

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

5 responses »

  1. Thanks so much for linking up your delish black eyed peas to our Get Grillin’ event! Wish I could have some for dinner 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi, Marla-I was happy to be part of your Get Grillin contes.
      I’d also like to commend you and Cookin Canuck on how user friendly you made it for people to participate in the contest and upload photos and add the link. I don’t think I’ve done anything that easy before!

      Reply
  2. The Black eyed peas were delicious..It was an attractive looking dish

    Reply
    • Thanks Anthony! It was delicious and nice to look at. The first time I made it I used a whole tomato chopped up, but grape tomatoes are so sweet now and they just look fantastic next to the brown peas.

      Reply
  3. This looks tempting and delicious. I just might try this dish.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

