RSS Feed

easy,one pot,creamy macaroni and cheese

Posted on

creamy macaroni and cheese

Everyone has a favorite food from childhood.  The meal I most looked forward to was my moms famous spaghetti and meatballs.  She cooked her sauce(painfully)slow on the stove top. She never used a prepared jarred sauce. It was always crushed tomatoes and tomato puree mixed together, laced heavily with oregano,and simmered for what seemed like hours on the stove top filling the house with incredible aromas. My brother, sister and I would fumble around trying to keep ourselves busy, but always with our eyes on the kitchen, anxiously waiting for dinner to be ready.

And those meatballs-moist tender juicy balls of meat. They were so good that I always saved them for last, mashing them up with my fork and mixing them with a little red sauce. To this day I don’t know what she put in those meatballs. I have never been able to duplicate them.

The dish I really wanted to love, as all kids do, was  macaroni and cheese.  But I couldn’t only because my mom was constantly changing the way she made it.  Just as I was getting used to one kind she would switch things around. So I never had the chance to have a favorite. My mom was raised in the south so to say she was a good cook was an understatement.  But for some reason she always made different versions of her macaroni and cheese.  All very good but different in some way. It seemed she was trying to recapture a macaroni and cheese that she had,maybe growing up, and she just hadn’t quite gotten it to her liking.

Well it seems I have picked up where my mother left off . But for different reasons. When I have stray pieces of cheese and cheese ends in the refrigerator I just shred them up and make macaroni and cheese. It doesn’t matter what kind of cheese it is as long as its sharp and pungent.

 I do have one perfect macaroni and cheese that I make for holidays and special occasions. I don’t tinkle with this recipe. It’s the perfect combination of cheeses baked to bubbly perfection.However, with up to seven different cheeses and a thick creamy sauce its best left for special occasions.

 Sometimes I just have a taste for pasta with a cheesy sauce without having to go through the whole process of melting flour and butter to make a roux that will turn into a bechamel that will eventually turn into a cheese sauce. And because my kids love macaroni and cheese and would eat it every day it’s always good to have an easy one pot version in my repertoire.

This is truly a one pot, creamy macaroni and cheese that is very good. The reason why it can be made in one pot is because I don’t drain all of the pasta water from the macaroni.  I just carefully dump out the water leaving about a cup in with the cooked macaroni. To this I add a beurre manié.  A beurre manié is a fancy french term for softened butter and flour mixed together that can be used to thicken sauces and gravy.

 

Once the beurre manié is mixed into the macaroni with the starchy water it will start to thicken. You can then add a little milk for richness and dump in any kind of cheese you wish and you’ve got creamy macaroni and cheese within minutes. Because I like cheese I always have a variety in the house. I’ve had this macaroni and cheese with blue cheese, Gruyère, Monterey Jack and any combinations of sharp cheddar cheese .  Use anything you have. Just make its good flavored melting cheese.

 

 

 

 One pot,creamy macaroni and cheese

 

Ingredients:

Beurre manié

3 tablespoons softened unsalted butter

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

 

1-2 tablespoons coarse salt

1 pound elbow pasta

1 cup of 2% or whole milk

8 ounces extra-sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

4 ounces Monterey jack cheese, shredded

fresh ground black pepper

 

Directions:

To make the beurre manié,using a fork, mash the softened butter and flour together in a small bowl until they are fully combined and you have one smooth lump. Set aside.

Add the coarse salt to a large pot of water and cook the pasta until al dente according to the directions on the box.

When the pasta is cooked, carefully pour out most of the water leaving about one cup of pasta water in with the pasta.

Put the pot with the pasta and one cup of pasta water back on the stove.

Add the lump of beurre manié and using a spoon mix together until you can see it start to thicken.

Add the milk, slowly, and mix as you continue to stir.

Add all your shredded cheese and continue to mix until everything has melted and become creamy. Serve immediately.

 

 

 

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

One response »

  1. Pingback: Profiteroles with Vanilla Ice Cream and Bourbon Chocolate Sauce « Kat's in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

