RSS Feed

sweet peas with bacon and caramelized onions

Posted on

sweet peas with bacon and caramelized onions

This past Sunday what was supposed to be a relaxing day at the lake with my family turned out to be anything but. At least in the beginning.

It was my birthday weekend so I was looking forward to a day of eating grilled food,sipping ice-cold fruity drinks and laying out on my blanket while hubby grilled and the kids swam in the pool. I had carefully planned everything out down to the time I would leave, which wouldn’t be until the park rangers asked me to and only because the park would be closing.

Well, you know what they say about the best laid plans; they often go astray. I had carefully marinated,labeled and packaged chicken the night before,meticulously shaped out more than a dozen burger patties,but didn’t plan on leaving the hot dogs in the freezer.

On the way to the lake I made a quick (planned) stop at the grocery store to pick up ice,onions and charcoal fluid, but didn’t plan on the cashier forgetting to pack the charcoal fluid,which wasn’t discovered until after we unpacked at the lake.

I was up at 6am making sure towels and blankets were clean and folded. Checking off items on my list and preparing for a 10am departure in order to arrive at the lake no later than 10:30 to ensure a spot close to the pool that came with its own built-in grill. Well, I most certainly did not plan for half of New York State to beat me to the lake hours before and take up every inch of prime space within viewing distance of the pool.

So not only was I forced into what can only be described as Siberia of the lake, I had no grill, no charcoal fluid and no hot dogs!

Now I’m an optimistic kind of person, always seeing the glass as half full, so I immediately began to think how I could fix the situation so the day would be saved. It was,after all,my birthday weekend.

After leaving the park and returning with a portable grill I made sure the kids were safe in the pool and left hubby to set up our spot-which turned out to be not so bad-while I went to retrieve items forgotten and left behind. I was in and out of the park so many times the parking attendant eventually stopped asking to see the parking ticket and just kept waiving me through. I’m sure she was wondering who this crazy woman was that kept leaving and coming back and wasn’t relaxing or swimming in over 90 degree weather. I know I was.

All was not lost,because I had planned everything out and left the house early enough,these mini disasters,though annoying, were remedied rather quickly and I was actually relaxing and sipping my icy drink by noon. Everything worked out and I got my day at the lake. Good times were had by all and we’ll do it again soon.

Here is one of my favorite dishes. I can’t really call it a recipe because it’s things I just put together. It combines the flavors of salty,smoky bacon with earthy sweet peas and cooked down onions.

I take comfort in eating this dish from a bowl with a big old spoon. If there are leftovers I toss it with cooked pasta and grated parmesan cheese. A different sort of comfort food that my mother never made but is a favorite in my home.  And is exactly the kind of comfort I crave.

Sweet peas with bacon and caramelized onions:

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons sweet butter

5 slices(or more) of your favorite bacon or pancetta chopped

1 medium onion,sliced thinly

1 package frozen sweet peas

In a large saute pan,over medium heat,add the olive oil and butter. When the butter has melted add the bacon and cook the bacon until done but not really crispy.

Remove the bacon from the pan with a slotted spoon and place on a plate. Add the sliced onion and cook about 10 minutes,stirring occasionally,until the onions have turned a nice golden brown and are soft and sweet.Add the bacon back to the pan with the onion mixture and mix to combine.

Pour in the bag of frozen peas and about a 1/4  cup of water, stir to combine. Cover the saute pan and cook the peas for a few minutes. Remove the lid and cook about 2 or 3 minutes more until the peas are done and the water has evaporated. Give a good stir to coat everything with the pan juices.

Add salt and pepper if you like.

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

justhomemade.wordpress.com/

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

