RSS Feed

corn fritters

Posted on

My summer’s would not be complete without a batch of crispy,fried corn fritters. A summer may pass where I didn’t get to the farmers market in time to snatch up the most colorful heirloom tomatoes., so my salads had to make do with the supermarket kind. There may be summers where I don’t get a chance to sample every different stone fruit in a crumble or buckle,or make pies bursting with jammy blueberries. But I will never let a summer go by without having made corn fritters.

Its mostly because once corn comes into season it’s really easy to find excellent quality ears. I have had great corn from supermarkets as well as farmers markets. So during the summer I never wait to get my corn exclusively from farmers markets. I may do that with certain fruits and vegetables but anytime I’m in a supermarket and the corn looks good I grab at least five or six ears. I haven’t been disappointed yet.

I  found this recipe for corn fritters in Mark Bittman’s excellent cookbook How to Cook Everything. I love this book so much I went out and purchased copies for my sister and a few of my friends (no matter though,because they still call me and ask cooking related questions like “how do you make pancakes ?”and “what’s one-third of a cup?” and I always think to myself”Didn’t I give you a gigantic cookbook called How to cook Everything? Not SOME THINGS but EVERYTHING?). Anyway, before I got Marks book I used to make my corn fritters more like corn-cakes or johnnycakes-flat like a pancake with crispy edges.

It wasn’t until I read The Secret Life of Bees,that I desired to have a corn fritter. The description of Rosaleen making the crispy, fried corn fritters was so mouth-watering I knew I had to have them. By this time I had my copy of Mark’s book so I figured a book called How to cook Everything must have a recipe for corn fritters. Turns out it did and I have been making my corn fritters like this ever since. Much better than a pancake these balls of corn(and they are loaded with corn)are crispy all around. I enjoy them plain or dipped into maple syrup.

It’s not too late to grab quality corn so go out,whether to the supermarket or farmers market,and get a few ears to make a batch of corn fritters.

Recipe: corn fritters, From How To Cook Everything, by Mark Bittman

Ingredients:

Vegetable oil for frying

3/4 cup cornmeal

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 teaspoon sugar

3/4 cup milk, more if needed

2 cups corn kernels(from fresh corn)

1/2 cup scallions(optional)

Directions:

pour oil about 3 inches deep in a frying pan and heat to about 375 degrees

combine dry ingredients in a bowl

beat milk and eggs together, add to dry ingredients

stir in corn and scallions

carefully drop by 1/4 cupfuls into hot oil

deep fry about 4-5 minutes carefully flipping over once

place on paper towel lined plate to drain and place in 200 degree oven to keep warm while others cook

eat plain or serve with maple syrup

1 egg

2 cups of corn kernels (from about 3 ears)

1/2 cup scallions(optional)

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

