RSS Feed

my shrimp and boursin cheese grits

 

As adults we should never lose the child-like excitement of discovering new things. We should jump up and down,fling our arms about and whoop and holler.

Of course children can get away with acting this way,adults would certainly receive the curious stares of others.

I discovered two new things and when combined they granted the jumping up and down,arm flinging kind of excitement.

Let’s back up a moment. A while ago,by accident and frugality,I discovered Boursin cheese. While perusing the cheese case,looking for a sale on some of my favorite cheese,my eye caught a sign advertizing Boursin cheese for half off and attached to it was a coupon for an additional one dollar off. Never one to pass up a bargain(and  an inexpensive way to try something new) I grabbed one of the small boxes. I’d seen Boursin cheese but never tasted it and at eight dollars for a tiny package I wasn’t curious.

I chose the cracked black pepper flavor. Spread on crackers it was good. It stayed in the refrigerator. When I had pretzels I’d scoop out a bit and dip the pretzels in-very good. One morning when I was craving something more savory than sweet,I spread some of the tangy softened cheese on a bagel-this was getting really good.

Since then I purchase the cheese whether on sale or not.Lucky for me it seems to go on sale often and always has a coupon attached.

The other part of my exciting discovery was stone-ground grits. I grew up on grits. The kind that comes in the cylindrical box with the quaker man on front.I’ve eaten these grits all of my life and never had to complain. I know all the praise of stone ground grits-they are true stone ground corn,they have a superior flavor and texture,they are much better than the supermarket standard. I wasn’t convinced or interested in seeking any out. In fact I was a little insulted. How dare anyone try to dis my childhood grits?

Well it seems for the right price my mind can be changed.  I came across stone ground grits on sale and figured this was as good a time as any to try them out.

I must confess(sorry little cylindrical box) they are very good and very different from the grits I grew up eating.They have a pleasantly gritty texture and really do taste of corn and come in a cute little sack.

Alone these two-the cheese and grits-are good enough.

Together-excitement.

Shrimp and grits recipes are not scarce. They are all over and anyone can find a recipe that will satisfy their taste. I like my shrimp with a gravy-like sauce as opposed to just using the sauce from the oil or butter and seasonings left in the pan. The hearty sauce goes perfectly with the course grits. It reminds me of a light and quick ettouffe or gumbo. The pepper Boursin cheese in the grits compliments the saucy shrimp. Use more or less onions as you wish,but I find the onion flavor marries well with the shrimp and cheese grits.

Though the Boursin cheese has become a favorite and I do love the stone-ground grits,there is still room in my pantry for that cylindrical box with the quaker man on front.Knowing it is there and easily accessible is enough to keep me excited.

 

Recipe: shrimp and Boursin cheese grits

1 pound of medium-sized shrimp(shelled and deveined-leave in the refrigerator until ready to use)

2 Tablespoons of olive oil

4 slices of thick cut bacon-diced small

1/2 medium-sized onion-diced small

salt and pepper

1 Tablespoon of butter

2 teaspoons of flour

1/4 cup of beef,chicken,or seafood stock

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

few dashes of hot sauce

 

Directions for shrimp:

In a large pan add 1 Tablespoon of oil and all the bacon. Over medium heat cook the bacon until crisp being careful not to burn. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and put on paper towel lined plate.

Pour out the oil in the pan and add the remaining 1 tablespoon of oil. Add the onions and cook until softened,about 2 minutes. Add the butter and heat with the onions until melted.Add the flour and cook 1 minute. Be sure to scrape the bits stuck to the bottom of the pan. Add the stock ,Worcestershire and hot sauce. Stir until slightly thickened. If it is too thick add a little water, a tablespoon at a time.

Add the shrimp and cook until no longer pink and the sauce is bubbly,about 3 minutes. Stir to coat all the shrimp with the sauce. Add the cooked bacon to the pan and stir. Season with salt and pepper.Add more hot sauce if desired.

Serve over hot grits (see below)

Note: I did not include a recipe for the grits because I used stone ground grits which come with their own  directions and take about an hour or more to cook. If you purchase stone ground grits follow the directions for them. I am aware that most will use the supermarket standard of grits which is perfectly fine. Cook them also to their specified directions.

Whatever method you choose add 3 big Tablespoons of pepper Boursin cheese to the grits once they have cooked fully and stir them in until the cheese is combined into the grits. You may add more butter and cheese to your liking if you wish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

11 responses »

  1. Kathy, you have convinced me to try the stone ground grits and your recipe. I have had Boursin before, my family likes the garlic and herb flavor. I will let you know how mine turns out!
    Michele

    Reply
    • Hi Michelle, You of course know why I’m replying this late at night. Lol. I love the grits. They are made a little different than regular grits and do take an hour to cook(like polenta) but are worth it. The Boursin is a great substitute for stringy cheese. The garlic and herb sounds good too. I started of with a little and then tasted because I didn’t want to add too much. Let me know how your grits come out.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply
      • Hi Kathy,
        Made the shrimp and grits tonight for dinner. They were a big hit! The grits are delicious, a heartier taste than regular grits, but I forgot to put in the Boursin!!! I’ll have to make them again, this time with the cheese.
        Michele

      • Oh I’m glad Michelle! My sister, who is the pickiest person ever and would never try Boursin cheese on her own, made the grits with the garlic herb Boursin and said she loved it. That was just a base recipe now you can make it your own-add greens,vegetables,sausage etc. I only have about a cup of grits left. So I have to get more!

        Sent from my iPhone

  2. This is now my new favorite meal! The sauce was phenomenal, and even my son enjoyed it.

    Reply
  3. Holy moly…I can’t wait to try this. My favorite local restaurant sometimes features shrimp & grits, or blackened fish over Boursin cheese grits, and now I can make my own. Thank you! I’m so excited to try the recipe, and will blog about it at one of my two blogs. (The blog not linked to my name in this comment is Forgotten Plants & Places, http://forgottenplantsandplaces.blogspot.com.)

    Reply
  4. Just made this again tonight, this time I remembered the Boursin! DELICIOUS!!! Thanks! Keep up the good work, it gives me ideas for my family meals.

    Reply
    • Hi Michelle! Thanks and that’s so funny because last night I put the shrimp and grits on my Mother’s Day Brunch Menu. I usually keep it simple for picky people who don’t like vegetables but this time I think I’ll experiment by adding some spring vegetables. Talk soon.

      Reply
  5. This looks so good!! Boursin and grits are two of my favorite things. I never even thought to combine them – such a great idea! I will definitely be making this recipe this weekend.

    Reply
    • Kristine these two together are incredible! I used real stone ground grits, the kind that cooks like polenta and I’m telling you I won’t eat my grits plain any more. I used the pepper Boursin but I’m sure any flavor would be deliciious.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

