RSS Feed

quiche

Posted on

Let me start off by asking you to forgive the crust on this delectable quiche before you.  Although I took care to shape and mold it into it’s tart pan,  sometimes the finished product doesn’t cooperate and come out picture perfect.  I personally loved the rusticity of it and hope you all can appreciate it’s slight imperfection because this quiche is delicious.

Usually I can pinpoint exacly when I fell in love with a certain food,  but I’m having trouble figuring out just when my love for quiche came about.   I’d have to say it was around the mid-90’s if I were really pressed for an answer.  I have no doubt as to why I fell in love with it though.  A creamy, eggy custard studded with bits of bacon and maybe some soft onions and loaded with melted cheese all resting in a buttery flaky pie shell-really do I need to say more?

I  am a huge fan of  hand held food or anything that can be eaten for breakfast on the go that doesn’t require a plate or utensils.  Usually this comes in the form of a sweet pastry,  but when I want a savory breakfast on the go a slice of quiche comes in handy.  I don’t make quiche all that often, but I crave it a lot.  Like most I don’t always have the time to make quiche which is sort of like pie in that it requires the making of pie dough.  This quiche was easier to make because I happened to have a perfectly good pie dough, from way  back in November, hanging out in my freezer. 

Making a quiche from scratch is not hard at all.   I know a lot of people cringe at the thought of making pie dough from scratch.   Well start cringing.  I am not giving you a free pass and telling you it’s ok to use a store bought pastry shell.  There is a place for store bought shells but not in this quiche.  If you made those pie crust I mentioned on this post and still have one left you are halfway there.   If you didn’t make them,  I suggest you revisit that post.  It’s ok to make the crusts one day and  save in the freezer to make the quiche at a later time.     

I nibbbled on this for days after making it.  Slices reheat beautifully in a 350 degree oven for about 5 minutes.  If I were you I’d be planning a date for brunch and serving this quiche

 

quiche lorraine (adapted from Williams Sonoma Essentials of Baking)

Note: I added caramelized onions to my quiche which is an excellent addition but an extra step.  For the purpose of hoping everyone will make this I left them out.  Don’t worry the quiche is still fabulous without them.  Use good quality Gruyere, which can be found in supermarkets.

pie pastry, for double crust (save one for later)

4 slices thick-cut lean bacon

8 oz (1 cup) Gruyere cheese, shredded

3 large eggs

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon freshly grated black pepper

pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

3/4 cup heavy cream

3/4 whole milk or half and half

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Prepare the pie crust and refrigerate to chill as directed.  Once chilled roll out the dough and fit into a 9 inch,removable bottom tart pan.  Chill the lined pan.

Prebake the pie dough in the tart pan:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Line the frozen pie crust with a piece of heavy duty foil.  Fill the foil-lined crust with dried beans, uncooked rice, or pie weights.  The purpose of this is to keep the crust from browning too much (because it will continue to cook once filled) and also stops the bottom from bubbling up.

Bake the lined crust about 15 minutes. Pull up one piece of the foil to see if it is ready.  If it sticks the crust is not ready. Continue cooking until dough  is ready about 5 minutes more ,checking every 2 minutes. When done carefully remove the foil and weights.  Reduce the heat to 350 degrees.  Return crust to oven and continue to cook another 5 minutes.  The pie shell at this point is partially cooked.  Place on wire rack to cool while you make the custard.

make the custard:

Position a rack in th middle of the oven.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a frying pan over medium heat fry the bacon until the edges are crisp, about 8 minutes.  Transfer to paper towels to drain, then pat dry with more paper towels.  Cut crosswise into 1 inch pieces.  Arrange the bacon pieces evenly in the prebaked pie crust.  Carefully lay the shredded Gruyere cheese evenly over the bacon.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, salt,pepper, and nutmeg until blended.  Whisk in the cream and milk until well mixed.  Pour through a medium mesh sieve into a pitcher.  Slowly and carefully pour the egg mixture over the bacon and cheese in the crust, trying not to disturb the bacon layer.  Dot the top with the butter pieces.

Bake the quiche until the top is lightly browned and the filling is just set when you give the dish a gentle shake, 40-45 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack and let cool for 5 minutes.  Serve hot.

 

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

6 responses »

  1. No store bought crust Kathy????????

    Reply
    • Lol. Kira please try the crust I posted. It is sooo easy and trust me once you make it you will always make it. Always remember when making pie crust that all the ingredients should be cold and don’t over work the dough. It’s even easier with a food processor but I make it by hand too. If you want to use a store bought you can. But please one day master this pie dough. It’s a Martha Stewart recipe.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply
  2. Ha! I would love to see the day Kira made a home made pie crust. Although I am not one to talk because I’ve never made one either. I will try yours Kathy! Do you think a tart pan is too shallow?

    Reply
    • Hey Melissa,lol. I hope she does try it. It really is easy especially with a food processor. I have made this quiche in a 9 inch sprinform pan and the tart pan. I used the tart pan because I was too lazy to trim the dough on the springform pan. I’m pretty sure my tart pan is 10 inches with 1 1/2 inch sides. I poured all the custard in and it reached the top (precariously). It puffed up but didn’t spill over and once it cools it flattens down. About that pie crust-I know you will make it Melissa. I have been using this recipe for years and it is perfect. It freezes beautifully. Let me know how it comes out.

      Reply
  3. This looks delicious! Love your blog 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

