RSS Feed

whole roasted sweet potatoes with butter, muscovado sugar and black pepper

Posted on

As most of us know by now January is a good time to make a fresh start towards eating healthy.  So,  I couldn’t help feeling a bit virtuous  while eating this roasted sweet potato for lunch one cold winter afternoon.  With every spoonful I was raising my levels of vitamin A and getting a nice boost of beta-carotene.  But in all honesty I was feeling good from the warm melted butter , the generous sprinkling of dark muscovado sugar and the freshly ground black pepper.  It was both sweet and savory and a nice unexpected treat for lunch.

Sometimes I forget about the many ways in which a sweet potato can be cooked and end up only eating them candied during the holidays.  I forget that a sweet potato can be treated in much the same way as a white potato; it can be mashed into a puree, tucked into an au gratin even cubed and fried like hash browns.  

So recently when I found I had extra sweet potatoes, rather than forget about them only to discover them much later shriveled and a bit rubbery, I decided I’d roast them.  Everthing tastes better roasted and sweet potatoes are no exception.   Their flesh becomes soft and yields a natural sweetness that will satisfy any sweet craving.  Yet, they can also be savory.  I like this combination of sweet brown sugar and the spice hit from the black pepper.   If you felt like it you could also drizzle the roasted sweet potatoes with  extra-virgin olive oil and really good sea salt. 

This had to be the easiest lunch I have ever made.  Even easier than making a sandwich because there was really no work involved.  Once I rubbed the sweet potatoes with some olive oil I simply popped them in the oven and let it do all the work.  I sat down with a good book and less than an hour later I had a nice healthy lunch that doesn’t need to be reserved only for January.   I have started keeping sweet potatoes in the house because I enjoy eating them this way and it feels much better than eating something that’s not so good for me.   Don’t think you have to eat this alone, for a more complete lunch or dinner serve it alongside baked chicken or any pork dish.

recipe:whole roasted sweet potatoes with, dark muscovado sugar and fresh ground black pepper

Note: dark muscovado brown sugar can be found in the supermarket baking section next to other sugars.  You can use regular dark brown sugar but muscovado sugar has a more complex flavor and can be used just like brown sugar, so it’s a good investment you won’t regret.

ingredients:

a few medium-sized sweet potatoes-unpeeled, depending on how many people you will serve, you can also just roast one

olive oil, for rubbing the skin

unsalted butter

dark muscovado sugar (see head note)

Preheat oven 400°.  Lightly rub sweet potatoes with oil and place on a rimmed baking sheet. Bake for 40-50 minutes, until sweet potatoes are completely tender and the skin is crisp.

Carefully remove cooked sweet potato from oven and while still hot split the top and insert a pat or two of butter.  Gently squeeze each end of sweet potato to expose the orange flesh a bit and sprinkle with a generous amount of muscovado sugar and freshly ground black pepper.

 

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

