RSS Feed

how-to: roast garlic

Posted on

One of the worst food crimes I ever committed was purchasing a jar of prepared roasted garlic.  The taste was so bad that for years I wrinkled my nose at any food or recipe  that contained roasted garlic.   I was doomed to forever associate how it should taste with that awful store-bought jar.   Which really would have been a shame.   Thankfully I got a taste of what true roasted garlic should taste like and also learned how easy it is to make at home.

If you like garlic sautéed and mixed into soups, stews and sauces, you will love it even more in its roasted form.  Roasting garlic gives it a nice heady aroma but mellows out it’s flavor so that you can actually eat it as is with no further preparation.  It becomes so mild and soft that the  roasted cloves can be turned into a spread and eaten with only a slice of crusty bread to accompany.  You can mix roasted garlic into pasta sauce to give your spaghetti and meatballs a bump in flavor.  It also goes well mixed into mashed potatoes, rubbed onto a cooked steak even mixed into vinaigrettes.  The possibilities are endless. 

So don’t be like me and deprive yourself of this wonderful taste any longer, grab some garlic and roast it today.

A few things: I only roasted one head of garlic because that’s all I needed.  I could have easily packed 2 or 3 more heads into my dish and roasted a bunch and stored the leftovers in a jar in the fridge.   If you don’t have a shallow dish, no worries, you can wrap individual heads in foil and roast on a baking sheet. 

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Have handy a small oven proof shallow baking dish or aluminum foil is fine.  You will need one or more heads of garlic, with any loose skin peeled away, but leave the head whole and intact, olive oil and kosher salt. 

 Carefully chop off 1/4 inch off the top of the head of garlic to expose the cloves.  The top is the part without the root.  Do this with all the heads if you use more than one.  If you are using the baking dish, put the head of garlic in it and drizzle with olive oil ( a few tablespoons), sprinkle with a little kosher salt and cover the entire dish tightly with foil.  If you use foil-have a piece large enough to wrap one head, place the garlic on the foil, drizzle with the oil and kosher salt, then wrap the head up by gathering the foil sides together and twisting to make a long twist it will be easier to open this way and the oil will not spill out. Wrap all heads this way if you are doing more than one and place on a baking sheet.

 

Set the baking dish (or baking sheet with the foil wrapped garlic) into the preheated oven and cook about 35-40 minutes.  Remove the garlic from the oven, it should be nicely browned and soft, let cool before you squeeze out the flesh.  Use immediately or put into air tight container(cover with more oil) and store in fridge up to a week.

 

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

justhomemade.wordpress.com/

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

