RSS Feed

wings and snacks and things

Posted on

It’s Super Bowl weekend.  I can’t really say I’m a huge fan of football.  Football is summed up this way in my home: it’s watched by the men in my family and I provide the snacks.  It works, everyone’s happy.

Super bowl snacks don’t really stray too far from wings, chilli and the usual assortments of chips and dips.  I did see one hopeful article in a magazine offering vegetables and healthier dips, like hummus.  Though my knowledge of football is pretty slim I’m sure men and women alike need something a little more substantial than vegetables and dip to go along with all that whooping, hollering and beer.

Here are my offerings: sriracha wings,  pulled pork sliders and brownie bark.

I always have a bottle of sriracha in my fridge.   I use it on fried chicken, french fries and ramen noodles among other things.   Sriracha ia a Thai hot sauce.  It’s as thick as ketchup and used in much the same way in Southeast Asian homes.   At one time I could only get it at International food stores but its become so popular it can now be found in Target and Wal-Mart stores.   While trying to come up with a different sauce for wings for this post I spotted the half empty bottle of sriracha in the fridge and thought why not make sriracha wings?  Turns out it’s not such an original concept.  A quick Google search provides many a recipe.

My favorite comes from White on Rice Couple.   Their version is sweet and tangy with some heat.   The sweetness of these wings will provide a nice contrast next to regular buffalo wings on your Super Bowl buffet table.

Pork is without a doubt my favorite food.   I could absolutely become vegan were it not for my love of pork.  These mini pulled pork sliders are perfect in every way; easy to cook ( just dump all the ingredients into a slow cooker and let it do its work), easy to serve (pile the pulled pork into a bowl with a pair of tongs, put the rolls next to them) and easy to eat (one hand in 2-3 bites).   This recipe adds a complex flavor to a simple dish from the addition of 2 cans of Dr. Pepper and a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce.   Trust me it’s good.

Originally I sliced these brownies up into perfect little squares and placed them on a pretty platter.   For a picture that was to be included  in a post about football snacks it looked about as right as a pig in a bubble bath.   I had put the pan in the refrigerator and the brownies became firm and because they were shallow they were easy to break apart and I liked the way they looked.  The ragged edges remind me of broken peppermint bark hence the name.    Pile these in a nice bowl for everyone to grab.

GO GIANTS!

recipes: sriracha wings, pulled pork sliders, semi-sweet brownies

honey sriracha wings (adapted from White on Rice Couple)

serves 6-8 

note: I use a family pack of whole wings and split them myself using a sharp knife.  You can use the frozen bagged wings but be sure and thaw them properly and dry them completely.   Cooking cold wings prevents them from becoming crisp. 

ingredients:

4 lbs chicken wings (see note above)

1 cup unsalted butter

2/3 cup Sriracha sauce

1/2 cup honey

2 teaspoons kosher salt

juice of 1 lime

sesame seeds for garnish ( you will love the nutty flavor this adds to the wings)

directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Line two rimmed large sheet pans with foil (non stick if possible).

Place the dried and thawed (if it was necessary to do so) wings on the sheet pan without overcrowding (you can cook the wings in batches if you need to). 

Drizzle over a little vegetable oil.  bake in oven about 20 minutes.  Using tongs carefully flip wings over and cook another 20 minutes until browned and crisp.

While wings cook make sauce.  In medium saucepan over low heat melt butter.  Add sriracha, honey, salt and lime juice, then stir to combine.  Keep warm over low heat.

When wings are done, drain on paper towel to remove grease, toss with sauce put on a platter and sprinkle over sesame  seeds.

spicy dr. pepper shredded pork (adapted from Ree Drummond)

makes about 12-18 sliders on mini rolls (depending on how much people pile on!)

Note: I cooked this in my slow cooker on low for 8 hours.  These directions are for oven cooking.

ingredients:

1 large onion peeled and cut into chunks

1 5-7 pound boneless pork butt

salt and fresh ground black pepper 

1 11 oz can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

2 cans dr. pepper

2 tablespoons brown sugar

mini rolls or buns (sometimes called slider rolls)

directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Put the onion chunk in the bottom of a large dutch oven.  Sprinkle the pork butt all over with salt and pepper and place on top of the onions.  Pour over the can of chipotle peppers with the sauce and the 2 cans of dr. pepper.  Mix in the 2 tablespoons of brown sugar.

Place lid on pot and cook for 6 hours, turn pork over about halfway through cooking time.  After 6 hours the pork should be falling apart.  If it is not cook for another hour or so.

When the pork is done remove to a cutting board and using 2 forks pull the meat apart into shreds.  Before returning shredded meat to pan skim off some of the oil from the sauce.  Return meat to pan and keep warm until ready to serve.   

This can also be served on warmed tortillas as part of a taco bar with all the fixings.

semisweet brownies

ingredients:

10 ounces semisweet chocolate

5 tablespoons butter

2/3 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cold large eggs

1/2 cup all purpose flour

2/3 cup walnut or pecan pieces (optional)

Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Line the bottom and sides of an 8 x 8 square baking pan with parchment paper or foil leaving an overhang on two opposite sides.

Place the chocolate and butter in a medium heatproof bowl set in a sauce pan of barely simmering water.  The heatproof bowl should sit on top of the sauce pan with the bottom in the saucepan but not touching the water.  Stir frequently until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth and just hot enough that you remove your finger quickly when you touch it.

Remove the bowl from the saucepan.  Stir in the sugar, vanilla and salt with a wooden spoon.  Add the eggs one at a time, stirring until the first one is incorporated before adding the next.  Stir in the floor and beat with wooden spoon or rubber spatula until the batter is smooth and glossy.  Stir in the nuts if using.  Scrape the batter into lined pan and smooth to even out.  

Bake for 20 minutes, or until the brownies just begin to pull away from sides of the pan.  The brownies should be gooey inside. 

When brownies are done place on cooling rack and cool completely.  Once cooled place in fridge so they become firm enough to break apart.  

Remove pan from fridge when ready to break apart.  Lift up the ends of the parchment or foil liner and transfer brownies to cutting board and break into different sized pieces like bark.  

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

3 responses »

  1. So, yesterday for Super Bowl, my husband and I had a pork cook-off. I used your recipe and he found another on the internet that he wanted to use. I won with all 24 of our guests – hands down!! Thank you so much.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The Introduction (My First Post!) « tryingtobeamanofgod

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

