RSS Feed

baking with olive oil and lemony olive oil banana bread with chocolate chips

Posted on

A quick post today on something really tasty and delicious; lemony olive oil banana bread with chocolate chips.  I know it’s a mouthful. I have in fact had my mouth full of it since I came across the recipe a few months ago.  Your eyes are not deceiving you.  Those are muffins in the picture above.  I’ve made this twice in the form of a bundt cake and once in a loaf pan but the way I like them best is in the shape of delicate little muffins.

They really are cute.  The perfect size for freezing and then popping in the oven to warm for breakfast on the run.

There’s a surprise ingredient squeezed in among the chocolate chunks, fragrant mashed banana and whole wheat flour:olive oil.

The olive oil in the recipe combined with nutty whole wheat flour and chocolate chunks and just a few grates of lemon zest turn this banana bread into something extraordinary.  Incredible smells of sweet and savory fill the house.  In baking the familiar aromas of warm butter and sugar are a given.  Olive oil adds aromas from its particular characteristics to the mix, so my grassy olive oil filled the house with pleasantly earthyand sweet smells.

Baking with olive oil is as easy as swapping one oil for another.  In  the case of butter a few minor adjustments have to be made that won’t change the recipe at all.

I can’t wait to make cookies using olive and I promise there will be more baking using olive olive oil.  Right now I’ve got my eye on another cake!  See you soon.

Recipe: lemony olive oil banana bread with chocolate chips (adapted from Melissa Clark)

Note: the recipe includes a lemon glaze and although I’ve never glazed my versions, I did include it here. Also if you purchased the muscovado sugar to make the roasted sweet potatoes you can substitute it here for the regular brown sugar, which is what I do.

ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup dark brown sugar or muscovado sugar

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 cup coarsely chopped bittersweet chocolate

1/3 cup good extra-virgin olive oil

2 large eggs lightly beaten

1 1/2 cups mashed, very ripe bananas (3-4 bananas)

1/4 cup sour cream or plain whole milk yogurt

1 teaspoon freshly grated lemon zest

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the glaze

1 cup confectioners’ sugar

4 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

Preheat the oven  to 350 . Grease a 9 x 5- inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, brown sugar, baking soda, and salt. Add the chocolate pieces and combine well. 

In a separate bowl, mix together the olive oil, eggs,mashed banana sour cream or yogurt, lemon zest, and vanilla.  Pour the banana mixture into the flour mixture and fold with a spatula until just combined.  Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake until dark golden brown and a tester inserted into the middle of the loaf comes out clean, about 50 minutes to 1 hour.

Transfer the pan to a wire rack over a rimmed baking sheet to cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn the loaf out of the pan to cool completely.

While the cakes is almost cool prepare the glaze. In a bowl, whisk together the confectioners’ sugar and lemon juice until smooth. Drizzle the glaze on top of the cake, spreading with a spatula to cover.

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

3 responses »

  1. I can’t wait until we get the technology to smell what we see!! Keep it up Kat! I think I’m going to try these this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

