RSS Feed

strawberry-lime ice pops

Posted on

 I can’t in all honesty say that I follow any one formula when deciding what to post on the blog. Lots of times it’s based on what I have a taste for and what I think you-my readers-might find new and interesting.  Other times the weather or season dictates what I’ll cook and then post.  During colder months I know there will be braising and roasting.  Warmer months present recipes that are sure to get you out of the kitchen in time enough to enjoy other warm weather activities-like the beach.  But this week I’ve been flip-flopping on what to post like a wayward politician on the campaign trail.  And the cause of all this flip-flopping? The weather.

I had two posts that I planned to put up this week.  One for strawberry-lime ice pops and the other, in celebration of Cinco de Mayo, spicy black bean soup.  I know, ice pops and soup?  In my defense I had made the soup and took pictures in early march  but when winter proved more spring-like than winter-like I tucked the soup recipe away for a more appropriate time.

That time came this past week when the weather around these parts cooled down significantly. The weatherman was even warning of early morning frost on some days. This cooldown could not have come at a better time.  I could post my recipe for the black bean soup and not have to worry that people would think I was crazy for putting a soup recipe up hot as it was .  And because it was cold I got to make the black bean soup again.   I just knew the warm weather would return any day so I chose to save the ice pops for later in the week. 

 I’d planned to put the soup post up on Monday but by Sunday morning it was quite sunny and I didn’t have soup on my mind. I had strawberries.  I now wanted to put up my post for the ice-pops because it was sunny and because I wanted everyone to be able to make these before the best of the strawberries were gone for the season.  I had a great story about ice-pops from my childhood so I started typing away in order to have this post ready to go up on Tuesday.  On Tuesday I woke up to cold and rain. I wasn’t thinking about ice-pops and I  was sure no one else would be either.  Soup maybe?

Not wanting to get outsmarted by the weather again, I did what I should have done earlier and checked the seven-day forecast.  It appears I’m not the only one flip-flopping. The week is filled with a mish-mash of temperatures from the middle 50s to the low 80s with a few rainy days thrown into the mix.  I came to the conclusion that I would not rely on the weather for my decision and used a tactic that as a child never failed me-eeny, meeny, miny, mo.  And here you have mo.  Strawberry-lime ice pops.

Don’t get me wrong, the spicy black bean soup is in no way a second runner-up.   As refreshingly, fruity and sweet as these ice pops are the soup is bowl licking good.  I have no idea what the weather will be like when this post finally goes up.  It’s supposed to be high 50s and cloudy, possibly rain.  Who knows? I surely, don’t.  But today you get ice pops.

Recipe:strawberry-lime ice pops

Note: you don’t need a recipe for this but I provided one. You will need popsicle sticks and small cups or ice pop molds if you have them-just keep in mind the size because the recipe will make more or less ice pops depending on what you use.  Here I used shot glasses that hold a little over an ounce and a half of liquid. Experiment with this recipe by using different fruits and combinations.  Have fun!

Ingredients:

2 cups fresh strawberries-sliced into quarters

1/2 cup sugar

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice

1 cup water

Directions:

Put the strawberries and sugar in a bowl and gently toss together.  Let sit about 30 minutes until the strawberries release their juices and the liquid is syrupy, stirring occasionally.  Put the strawberry mixture into a blender, add the lime juice and water.  Puree mixture.  Pour into small paper cups(see note above).  Cover each cup with a small piece of aluminum foil.  (this will hold the popsicle sticks in place). With a sharp knife make a small slit in the foil.  Add the popsicle stick carefully without it touching the bottom of the cup.  After all ice pops have been made put on a flat tray and place in freezer 6 hours or more until frozen solid.  Remove foil and if needed run the cups under warm water to release the pops.  Makes 6-8 pops.

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

Leave a Reply

blackstreetonline.wordpress.com/

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

