RSS Feed

cherry-lime fizz

Posted on

I had a few reservations about putting up this post only because as refreshingly bubbly and satisfying as this drink is one of its three ingredients is maraschino cherries.  And as you may have realized maraschino cherries are not exactly organic.  In fact I’m pretty sure they don’t come by their neon coloring naturally.  I don’t think Cheetos do either, but I digress.  After a moment of consideration I thought why not this is too good to keep to myself.

 Not long ago I made a strawberry cream cake that required  Kirsch in the strawberry filling and as the grocery store I was in did not sell alcohol (Kirsch is a brandy distilled from cherry juice and pits) I had to improvise.  I purchased a jar of maraschino cherries so I could use the “cherry juice”. I got the smallest jar available knowing I would never have a use for the tiny, syrup-macerated, cherries in my cooking.  I knew they would sit in my refrigerator until they were old enough and I could, without guilt, toss them out by telling myself they’d gone bad.

Months later the flaming red orbs were still in my refrigerator sheltered in their syrupy juices looking plump and bright as ever and  I couldn’t bring myself to toss them.  I also didn’t have a clue as what to do with them.  Maraschino cherries don’t have the best reputation.  They are cherries preserved in a syrup made of mostly high fructose corn syrup and lots of other things I can’t pronounce stuffed into a jar and destined to stay in said jar macerating away until they are either garnished on some drink or sundae or thrown away.

In my home we drink lots of seltzer and sparkling water in lieu of soda.  I call it fizzy water, a name given to  bubbly water by my friend Natasha .  Sparkling water serves a purpose for me by satisfying my craving for bubbly drinks without having to drink soda.  After awhile plain sparkling water can become boring  and the old squeeze of lime or lemon sometimes just won’t do.

On a particularly thirsty day I  decided I’d make a syrup to add to my sparkling water by muddling the maraschino cherries with limes.  Muddling is the quickest way to extract juice from lemons and limes plus you get maximum flavor because the peel is left on as you muddle and you get the benefit of the fruity oils on the peel.  Its how I make my lemonade.  For this reason you should use organic limes or lemons or clean store lemons well before muddling.

This drink idea came about solely out of convenience-I wanted something sweet and fruity to add to my plain sparkling water.  You certainly don’t have to use maraschino cherries-any fruit can be cooked down and strained and added to seltzer water.  I’m just saying if you happen to have a jar of maraschino cherries hanging out in your fridge here’s something you can do with it.

Recipe: Cherry-lime fizz

Note: this is deliciously tart and sweet

3 organic limes rinsed and cut into quarters

10 maraschino cherries plus 1-2 tablespoons of juice

1 cup of sugar

Directions:

Place all ingredients in a large pitcher and with a wooden spoon or muddler mash down (aggressively) on the limes and cherries until all the juices are extracted and the sugar has dissolved.  Strain the juices into a clean bowl pressing the fruit with the muddler to get all the liquid out.

In a saucepan large enough to hold the juices and over medium heat carefully cook the liquid down until it become somewhat thick and syrupy.  Cool completely.

Store in a jar in the refrigerator.  Use a tablespoon or so to add to sparkling water whenever you feel like.

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

