RSS Feed

Buttery peach crisp

Posted on

Oh hey, hello all !  It’s me Kat.  It’s been awhile since I’ve been here. I wish I had some elaborate excuse to offer you ,like, that I was off doing something really exciting and interesting but no I’ve just been enjoying my summer off.  Having some fun days, some lazy days and some days when I feel like summer break is overrated.  So to make up for my absence I’m offering up something sweet. Something quite easy to make that doesn’t require pulling out the heavy artillery or the buttering of cake pans.  No creaming of butter or folding in flour. Just a simple summer fruit dessert that will satisfy any sweet tooth. I actually started this post about two weeks ago. That”s when I made this buttery peach crisp that you will be delighted to get the recipe for.  I had my whole story written out. A story about how when I purchased my first home-my Martha Stewart house as my sister called it-there was a peach tree on the property. It’s a terrific story but it was not coming together like I hoped.  So I tucked this post away waiting for a sudden burst of creativity (which is what usually happens), but in this case did not.  I eventually decided I could not hold out a perfectly good peach crisp recipe from you, my readers, just because I couldn’t make a story come together.

 If you know me than you know that I like pie and especially fruit pies in summer.  But my relationship with any pie is a little complicated because my favorite part is the crust. Now I know a lot of people will not agree with me and argue that a pie is all about the seasonal fruit or the pecans or the just right sweet potato filling. But I will stand my ground. A galette is right up my alley, with its free-form and extra crust folded over the filling with a peak of the fruit within.  And a double crust pie might be extra work but the benefit of not one but two buttery crusts for me to dig into is worth the effort.

 Now a crisp is not a pie but I feel the same way about crisps, cobblers, crumbles even shortcakes. My favorite part is the crust and I like lots of it. Crunchy and buttery and sweet with hot bubbly fruit beneath and a scoop of vanilla ice cream melting on top.  Add nuts and I’m in heaven.  Well this recipe delivers all of that. It’s a recipe from Anne Burrell that includes sliced almonds pulsed into the crumb topping.  Almonds add a sweet nuttiness to the topping.  It’s not too late to grab peaches from the farmers market and the grocery stores have a variety of good peaches, so grab a bunch for the pie and some for snacking.  Don’t fret if you happen to miss the last of the summer peaches, fall will be here soon and with it lots of apples and pears perfect to hide beneath a buttery crisp topping.

Peach Crisp (thank you Anne Burrell)

5 large ripe peaches, pitted and cut into chunks

1 lemon, zested and juiced

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/4 cup packed light brown sugar

2 tablespoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup golden raisins

pinch kosher salt

For the topping:

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/4 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into pea sized pieces

1/2 cup sliced almonds

pinch kosher salt

1-2 tablespoons cold water

6  6 ounce ramekins or 2 quart baking dish

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

For the filling:

Toss the peaches in a large bowl with the zest and lemon juice.  Add the rest of the filling ingredients and stir to combine. Divide the filling evenly into the ramekins or put into baking dish.

For the topping:

Combine all of the ingredients in a food processor except the water.  Pulse until combined, this will take about 30 seconds.  Add water, 1 tablespoon at a time until mixture ia clumpy but crumbly.

Top each ramekin with the topping.  Be sure to loosely sprinkle the topping and not pack down.  The idea is to look very crumbly and craggy.

Place the ramekins or dish in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, or until the filling is hot and bubbly and the topping brown and crispy.

 Serve hot with vanilla ice cream.

About kathyme

Some things I know for sure: Every day is a gift-be surprised and thankful for each one. Every day we are given lessons that we should learn. We are here on earth to be kind to one another. All living things deserve respect. We should not ignore cultural differences but instead be curious enough to want to explore what makes us different in order to find a common thread. I know-that which does not kill you makes you stronger. I know that knowledge makes you blossom and ignorance hinders. I know you should do what you love. I know I love life on the best days and even more on the worst. I know a meal shared can bring neighbors and nations together. Mangia Come Pensi. Translation-Eat like you think. I am not full yet. Kat

Leave a Reply

BLACK STREET

Showcasing Greatness Within the Black Community

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

stirandstitch

adventures in baking, sewing and crocheting

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

industrial home decor ideas

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

BAKING & BREWING

and other adventures...

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

The Fauxmartha

Set to a minimalist tune.

tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Murphy's Test Kitchen

A science teacher experimenting with cooking...

Kwanzaa Culinarians

Recipes and Food Stories from the African Diaspora

Chef and Steward®

Serving the good life!™

